Rebuilding My Base and Finding My Strength

Houston Chevron Marathon has passed, so time to reflect on what didn’t work, what did work, and what I need to do to lock in my goal of qualifying for Boston by the end of the year.  It’s an aggressive goal, yes, but I want it.

If your dreams dont scare you_thumb[2]

Believe me – this goal scares me.  I’m scared of failing.  I’m scared of how hard it’s going to be.  It’s almost impossible to shave off 30 minutes off a marathon time in one training cycle, most people at most can shave off 10 minutes.  It’s going to be brutal, it’s going to take time, but I’m going for it.

I’ve spent the last several weeks researching new workouts, new approaches to marathon training (not doing a long run every week and focusing more on speed/interval training), nutrition, etc.  The Internet is a beautiful thing. 🙂  I also bought a book around Christmas time that I’ve been reading called “Build Your Running Body”.  This has proved to be very beneficial!  It has all the basics (which are great to read every now and then), mental training (that I desperately need), sample training plans, sample workouts, nutrition, the list goes on and on.

build-your-running-body

Also, my sweet boyfriend got me a training journal for Christmas called the Believe Journal.  It’s a year’s worth of entries to set goals, plan out how to crush them and go to work.  It has sections of motivation, checking in with yourself, a brief “how to use this journal” and so much more.  This journal and this blog are going to keep me accountable!

believe-training-journal-1_1

I’ve also decided that the Rock n Roll San Antonio Marathon will be my race.  It is December 6th of this year, which gives me plenty of time to rest, recover, and rebuild my running body.  It also lets me enjoy the holidays instead of running through them.  (I’ll be tapering through Thanksgiving and completely off for Christmas!  That hasn’t happened in YEARS!)

As for now – I’m stripping everything and starting new.  Relearning everything.  My approach is to spend January – March to mainly cross train with some running.  I have found yoga and lifting weights to be extremely therapeutic with a little swim/bike/climb. Since the 40 days challenge is going on until the end of February, I’ve been practicing 5 times a week, weight training 3 times a week and finding a run twice a week.  Climbing happens sometimes on the weekends, and I’m finding spin class at nonameFIT studios on Friday nights.  Trying to fit in swimming, but probably won’t add that back in until March or April.  For these first three months I only want to do what I feel like doing.  I don’t want to feel like I’m training, I just want to workout and do whatever makes me happy.  No pressure.

From March to July, my approach is to incorporate more running back in by sprints, hills, etc.  I’m calling this my strength phase.  I’m going to train for a 10K to produce a major PR. (maybe another race in July to keep me on my toes – but that’s it)  I’ll keep on with this (speed training, longish run on the weekends, weights, yoga, swim/bike) until August when I start back marathon training again.  I have faith and confidence that this will be my recipe for success.  I’m so excited to see what the year has to bring – I’m ready to kick my butt! 😀

Leave a Reply

